Day 1 – Part 1 Earl Blackburn

I am taking a chance that I may have time to post some on the conference this year.  I tried to do this last year, but was unsuccessful.  I know that there were some at the conference last night with laptops, so if anyone out there is posting live,  please let me know.  We will put your links on here.  If we have several at a time then that will be great.  It appears that we have a WIFI connection in the chapel so it should not be a problem.  I am checking to make sure it will be possible to do so during the breaks at Grace Baptist.

So far things are going great.  We had a great turn out for our first session last night.  The outside air was cold but the chapel and the preaching was fiery hot.  Earl Blackburn preached on an inexhaustable subject, the Power of God.  He preached from Revelation 19:6

And I heard as it were the voice of a great multitude, and as the voice of many waters, and as the voice of mighty thunderings, saying, Alleluia: for the Lord God omnipotent reigneth. (KJV)

Blackburn told us that no matter how long we try we will not be able to fully grasp the power of God while we are here in this world, which could be said about any of God’s attributes.  However, even when we have been in glory for a trillion years we will still be in awe of His wonderful majesty and power.  In our modern day attention span this is almost to wonderful to grasp.

The only power that any creature posses has been given to them by God.  Whether that be a king, president, preacher, teacher or whom ever it all is given by God.

His power has been asserted by His own divine declaration.  God is not caught up in what Blackburn labeled by pseudo-intellectualism of “Can make an object so heavy that even He could not lift it?”  As my old headmaster in high school responded to a similar question that was proposed to him, “I assume that God is wise enough not to waste in His time with such foolishness.”  I wish that I had realized how wise my headmaster was back then instead of now.

Going along this same line of thinking, Blackburn pointed out that God’s power is marked by seven denials.  Unfortunately, I was not able to write them down and I am having to go by memory, if you have them, please let me know. The ones I remember are God cannot lie, God cannot change, God cannot do what does not please Him.  Again, I am sorry that I cannot go into it further, but I believe I had to go and handle the registration table and missed part of this.  However the point is made that God has promised good to us (Redemption) and He cannot lie and He will not change His mind.  Praise God for this, because like Blackburn said if it were not so, then we are dead meat.

Blackburn pointed us to the fact once again that the problem with us is that our idea of God is not too big but too small.  We don’t ask of Him too much but too little.  All of Scripture points to God’s power and soverignty and that He does all that pleases and glorifies Him.

I see that I am running late to get ready this morning so I will try to post more today.  Be sure to check back here for more information about purchasing audio recordings of the session which is much better than my memory.

Again, we would love to hear your comments and opinions on how the sessions are going.

This entry was posted in 2009 Conference, Conference Registration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

